top of page

Stress Reliever: StressMeNYC

Everyone loves to look at relatable doodles whilst scrolling through their Instagram feed. It’s a refreshing stress reliever from the outside world, and especially the typical pictures of what your friends or following are doing. It’s a minimal black and white drawing that you can chuckle to.

That’s where @stressmenyc comes into play.

It’s where you can relate to multiple people, including the New York-based artist @mariaelizabethowen, about how stress and other emotions play a role in your life.

The stressful moment you’re skateboarding.

We’ve all been there. There’s a huge number of people right where you need to fly past. It’s a busy day, you want to skate by leisurely, but now you have to watch where you’re going. You might as well hold up a sign that says “Excuse Me” because you’ve said it so many times that your voice is gone. It's extremely stressful because the angel in you is shouting to get off your skateboard and walk normally, while the devil is saying to not give a f*ck and ROLL BABY, ROLL!

The stressful moment someone decides to interrupt you.

Did I ask for your opinion? Did I ask for you to interrupt me? I was casually reading just then. Did you not notice? I know I look good, I spent 30 minutes at least to look this good. I mean, of course I chose to get ready just to read at a coffee shop. Have you seen this place? It resembles a coffee shop you’d see fashion bloggers post on their Instagram. I think I may have posted this place once or twice- wait, I need to read! Stop interrupting me.

That stressful moment you’re not. stressed.

This is a universal way to cause stress. For a brief moment, you’re not stressed and sitting there looking at the skyline of the capital of the world- wait that’s just Maria. But we’ve all had a brief moment of destressing, where you're so relaxed that now you’re stressed. What if you’re missing or forgetting something? Don’t let these closed eyes in the doodle fool you; the brows furrowed means she’s thinking long and hard for something to stress about.

That stressful moment you’re waiting for takeout.

I actually have a story for this one. I ordered Chinese takeout with my sister visiting from D.C., and it came very shortly. We were both wearing masks, and I was wearing one of my robes when I get a call that our delivery is here. Well, there is this small alley by my place, and I swear I didn’t see him when he was driving and I was just standing there while his car was right next to me. Soon, a window rolls down, and this guy who looked much younger than me asks if I am Olivia Day. I say yes, and realize I still have the mask on. So not only was I stressed before because I didn’t know where he was, and thinking I must have given him the wrong address, but now I’m stressed because I’m wearing a stark white mask on my face and he definitely noticed. Talk about stressful. At least I was wearing my black Rihanna Fenty Slippers to make me look a little put together.

That stressful moment where 5’8” isn’t so tall and glamorous anymore.

I cannot tell you how many times I’ve been told I’m extremely tall and my legs are so long and all that sh*t. But honestly, those people are liars. Have they ever stood next to a model and realized that there is a whole other breed of human called ‘godly’? Even the tallest of us mortals are short and mediocre compared to models of, in Maria’s case, NYFW. Unfortunately, Instagram now allows us to see these godly models on a daily basis, making the stress flourish even more.


SOCIAL MEDIA
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FEATURED POSTS
SERIES – DEFINITION
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
bottom of page